Julie’s target is to lose 5 stone in the next 12 months

Julie Richards at the start of her weight loss journey

Julie Richards is just starting out on her journey to lose weight, get fit and raise lots of money!

At the end of January 2014, Julie’s 11 year old son, Geraint, suffered a catastrophic asthma attack causing him to have a cardiac arrest and leaving him severely brain damaged. From that moment on, life changed dramatically for the Richard’s family.

“Food has always been my comfort, and in the last 14 months even more so. We spent 5 months in hospital in Cardiff, then another 3 months in hospital in Surrey. We were with Geraint every moment, learning what to do, which exercises would help and generally providing support.

We weren’t eating properly, just grabbing whatever came to hand. And friends and family, at a loss to know what they could do to help, cooked for us – cakes, pasties, big home-cooked dinners that we could just pop in the microwave. I was never a light-weight, but I’ve put on over 2 stone in that time. Now at a size 26 top and size 22 trousers, I knew I had to do something about it.

Like most people, I know what I have to do to lose weight, BUT I needed the motivation. I think you have to want to lose weight, to do it for yourself. And this time, I’ve got motivation by the bucketful!

I worry about Geraint all the time. I need to be around for him now and in the future. It’s no good being out-of-breath and tired all the time. I need to be fit and healthy and to come out of my comfort zone. The best thing I can do for him right now is to lose weight – and if I’m sponsored for every pound I lose, then I can raise money for the Trust Fund we’ve set up for him for his future.

So Slimtone, here I am.

I’ve known Marie for a long time and Linda, who runs the Tondu class, is a good friend too. I know that with their help and support, I’m going to succeed. I’ve got no excuses and the Lifestyle Plan is ideal. Everything is so tasty and the whole family can eat the same thing – I can even have my favourite Sunday roast.

I’m exercising too – and this from someone who hates it with a passion. I just don’t understand how anyone can go to a gym and enjoy it! But I do love walking, oh yes and chatting! So every week after class I’m joining Linda and some of the other Slimtone members for a walk and a chat – exercise can be fun, after all!

At my first weigh-in I was 16 stone 2¼lbs. Marie had brought along a 5lb lump of fat – this is how much you can expect to lose every month! It was horrid. No wonder I’m out-of-breath and tired, this extra weight is like carrying a small child around with me all the time!

My journey has begun – my target is to lose 5 stone in the next 12 months.  I’ve weighed, I’ve measured and I’ve had my cholesterol checked. You can keep track of my success here on the Slimtone blog and on Slimtone’s Facebook page too – and if you’d like to sponsor me, that would be great. Thank you.

See you soon!

Julie

Do you want to join Julie on her weight loss journey? Get your copy of the Lifestyle Plan here or come and join a Slimtone class locally or online – you’re always welcome!

Leave a comment